David Kosins David Kosins

Welcome

 

Hello and welcome to my website. I am one of Washington State’s most experienced specialists in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT). I help people to cope with anxiety and to live a healthy, balanced life. Working from a foundation of a caring, empathic therapy relationship, I can teach you scientifically supported skills to handle your life challenges more effectively. My goal is to help my clients regain their vitality and confidence through learning skills to resolve current problems and reduce troubling symptoms.

Please use this website to learn about me, the issues I work with in my practice, and my approach to helping you. In addition, this website offers useful resources and forms related to my practice.

Sincerely,
Dr. David Kosins
dkosins@u.washington.edu
Seattle, Washington

What's New

I currently facilitate five different ongoing monthly support groups, listed below with dates through December, 2014. These groups are designed to follow or complement a course of individual cognitive-behavioral therapy offered by myself or another therapist. All but one has an optional secret Facebook Group available for members to extend the support they experience in monthly sessions. Please call me for further information or to register in advance for a group. If you have already attended a group at some time in the past, it is fine to drop in again.  Just phone to say when you'd like to come, or RSVP on SignUp Genius. Suggested fees for sessions are $75 per meeting, or $300 for any six meetings if paid in advance.  If that is prohibitive, you may pay a reduced fee of any amount that is comfortable for you.  

I am in the process of beginning a monthly support group for people with Specific Phobias, including blood-injection-injury, vomit, heights, etc. 

Future offerings may include groups to address problems with self-esteem, and a group to support people participating in the Beck Diet Solution.  Call me if you are interested. 

OCD SUPPORT GROUP (1st Thursday of the month, 5 - 6:30 PM, unless otherwise indicated **)

 

  • Thurs., Sept. 4
  • Thurs., Oct. 2
  • Thurs., Nov. 6
  • Thurs., Dec. 4

SOCIAL ANXIETY GROUP (2nd Thursday of the month, 5 - 6:30 PM, unless otherwise indicated **)

  • ** Tuesday, Aug. 26, 6 pm
  • Thurs., Sept. 11
  • Thurs., Oct. 9
  • Thurs., Nov. 13
  • Thurs., Dec. 11

 PANIC SUPPORT GROUP (3rd Thursday of the month, 6 - 7:30 PM, unless otherwise indicated **)

  • ** Monday, Aug. 25, 6 pm
  • Thurs., Sept. 18
  • Thurs., Oct. 16
  • Thurs., Nov. 20
  • Thurs., Dec. 18

BODY-FOCUSED REPETITIVE BEHAVIOR (Compulsive skin picking, hair pulling, etc.) SUPPORT GROUP (4th Thursday of the month, 6 - 7:30 PM, unless otherwise indicated **)

  • Thurs., Aug. 28
  • ** Monday, Sept. 22, 6 pm
  • Thurs., Oct. 23
  • ** Monday, Nov. 17, 6 pm
  • ** Monday, Dec. 22, 6 pm

FEAR OF DEATH/HEALTH ANXIETY SUPPORT GROUP (1st Monday of the month, 6-7:30 PM, unless otherwise indicated **)

  • ** Mon., Sept. 8, 6 pm (2nd Monday of month)
  • Mon., Oct. 6
  • Mon., Nov. 3
  • Mon., Dec. 1

 

Please feel free to call me at 206-285-0900 or email me at if you have a question or wish to schedule an appointment.

All material provided on this website is for informational purposes only. Direct consultation of a qualified provider should be sought for any specific questions or problems. Use of this website in no way constitutes professional service or advice. David J. Kosins, Ph.D. © 2014